Skip to main content

UTS Library: Church in History

UTS Course Reserves for Fall 2017

General

The Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle ofCatholic interests, action and doctrine. What the Church teaches and has taught; what she has done and is still doing for the highest welfare of mankind; her methods, past and present; her struggles, her triumphs, and the achievements of her members, not only for her own immediate benefit, but for the broadening and deepening of all truescience, literature and art — all come within the scope of the Catholic Encyclopedia.

The Early Church

Ecole Initiative - Early Church
The Early Church On-Line Encyclopedia (Ecole) Initiative is a cooperative effort on the part of scholars across the internet to establish a hypertext encyclopedia of early Church history (to the Reformation) on the World-Wide Web.

Ancient History Sourcebook - Christian Origins

Medieval Church

Digital Scriptorium
The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. It bridges the gap between a diverse user community and the limited resources of libraries by means of sample imaging and extensive rather than intensive cataloguing.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers. Authors are held to high standards of accuracy, currency, and relevance to the field of medieval studies.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies

The Reformation

Anabaptists
The term anabaptist was used to describe and define certain Christians during the Reformation. These Christians rejected infant baptism, choosing instead believer's baptism. Since many of them had been baptized in their infancy, they chose to be rebaptized as believing adults. Established in mid-1995, this site has three purposes: Glorify God, Build up people, Introduce Anabaptists.
Bibliography: General Works on the Reformation
Compiled by Fr. William Harmless, S.J.
With special emphasis for books in the collection of Byrne Library,
Spring Hill College
Center for Reformation and Renaissance Studies
The Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies (CRRS) is a research and teaching centre with a library devoted to the study of the period from approximately 1350 to 1700. The CRRS supervises an undergraduate program in Renaissance Studies, organizes lectures and seminars, and maintains an active series of publications.
H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies
Specializing in John Calvin and Calvinism since 1981.
Project Wittenberg
Project Wittenberg is home to works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans. Here you will find all manner of texts from short quotations to commentaries, hymns to statements of faith, theological treatises to biographies, and links to other places where words and images from the history of Lutheranism live.
The Reformation: Google Directory
Texts Relating to the Reformation
Unification Theological Seminary
__________
Barrytown Campus
30 Seminary Drive, Barrytown, NY 12507
__________
NYC Campus
4 W 43rd St., New York, NY 10036Unification Theological Seminary __________ Barrytown Campus 30 Seminary Drive, Barrytown, NY 12507 __________ NYC Campus 4 W 43rd St., New York, NY 10036