Skip to main content

UTS Library: Finding eBooks

UTS Course Reserves for Fall 2017

eBooks @UTS

Access eBooks in UTS Library's EBSCO eBooks collection. eBooks can be viewed online in the Library, on your computer and in many cases downloaded to computers or mobile devices. Most EBSCO eBooks are PDF files that require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader. Must be on campus or have a UTS ID to access off campus.

Searching eBooks on EBSCOhost - Video Tutorial

This tutorial demonstrates the searching functionality for eBooks on EBSCOhost as well as how to read eBooks online.  

Free eBooks

There are also many options for free E-books on the Internet. Here are some of the most popular and well known sites:

  • Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts - Browse Alex by Authors, Date or Title or search by keyword. Alex makes texts available to read online, or download in the following formats: PDF, Newton Paperback, Palm Pilot, or Rocket eBook.
  • Amazon Kindle Free eBook Collections - Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books, as well as limited-time free promotional ebooks available for Kindle.
  • Barnes & Noble Free eBooks - Use on your Nook, Nook software or Barnes & Noble eReader software or app.
  • Google Books  - Titles in the public domain or not copyrighted are freely available. Other titles have previews or snippets available
  • HaithiTrust Digital Library -  A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future (HaithiTrust titles are available in Quick Search)
  • Project Gutenberg  - over 40,000 free E-books from the first E-book website
  • The Online Books Page  - over 1 million free E-books from the University of Pennsylvania
  • Feedbooks  - public domain and "original" E-books available for free
  • Girlebooks  - Includes classic and contemporary E-books by female writers
  • Internet Archive - Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
  • Manybooks - over 29,000 E-books
  • Open Library - Attempting to create "One web page for every book ever published"
  • Project Gutenberg - One of the most comprehensive collections of electronic texts on the Internet. Many books can be downloaded for iPad, Kindle, Nook, Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, Sony Reader.

Did you know?

Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge. 

Apply for a NYPL Library card HERE.

With your new NYPL Library card, you now have access to THOUSANDS of eBooks.

NYPL Mobile Apps for iPhone, Android, and Mobile Web

With NYPL's new catalog, powered by BiblioCommons, you can now manage your Library account "on the go" with your iPhone or Android device.

DOWNLOAD the iPhone app from the iTunes App Store 

DOWNLOAD the Android app from the Android Market 

Enjoy new features, including...

  • Fully faceted catalog searching
  • Maps, Directions, and Library Hours
  • Locate the nearest copy of the items you're searching for
  • Manage your account: place holds, renew materials, review checked-out and overdue items, and more!

Important: In order to use the My Account functions (to place holds and manage your borrowing) in these apps, you must first register your account with the new NYPL catalog. Go to the BiblioCommons login page to easily register your account. You only need to register once.

Unification Theological Seminary
__________
Barrytown Campus
30 Seminary Drive, Barrytown, NY 12507
__________
NYC Campus
4 W 43rd St., New York, NY 10036Unification Theological Seminary __________ Barrytown Campus 30 Seminary Drive, Barrytown, NY 12507 __________ NYC Campus 4 W 43rd St., New York, NY 10036